top of page

Bad Taste Talks To: Ashaine White

The Ivor Novello-nominated singer chats to us about her experiences in grassroots music scenes and how to keep your head afloat in the age of social media.


Having been nominated for the Ivor Novello Rising Star award in 2022 alongside Matilda Mann, PinkPantheress and eventual winner Naomi Kimpenu, Ashaine White has officially been declared an exciting talent for the future. In our eyes, however, she's an exciting talent for the now, so we sat down with the North-London singer to chat about her experiences with the independent scene, how to cope with social media, and what is changing within London's jazz landscape.


 

Hi Ashaine! How's life for you at the moment?

Hey! Life is good! Super excited to be finishing up my next project and getting it ready for the big wide world - feels like sending a child off to Uni (loool). I'm just super excited for what this year will bring.


Last year was the first year people have been able to gig without much interference from COVID. Have you found that there's a newfound desire for live music from audiences?

It was - ugh, it was amazing to be able to have a year packed with singing to rooms of people! I feel people are definitely ready and raring to hear live music again. They’ve discovered so much exciting talent over the last couple of years of restrictions and can now finally hear that music in the flesh.

I'm assuming 2023 is going to be spent trying to play as much music as possible then???

Always! Playing to audiences is literally what puts the smile on my face, I'm so so so excited to sing the new songs - to whoever will listen!

In terms of the independent scene in the UK, what's your perspective? Are there any barriers you've found that make it particularly hard for you to find motivation?


The independent music scene is bustling with talent. I love being a part of it, it feels like a family of people that are all working towards the same goals, taking ownership for their sounds and art forms. I think funding a project as an independent artist is hard for sure. Building a loyal fan base is important for us and that’s where being an independent artist sees it’s greatest benefit. I get to form real, honest connections with my listeners - almost like any friend you might see from time to time. Independence also gives me agency over my sound, image and branding.


I think the funding is definitely what slips a lot of people up at first, but you're definitely right about the freedom being independent gives you, I think.


Yeah! I get to take time to discover who I am, as an artist, singer and songwriter and make music that truly represents that. Being your own label, A&R, marketer and manager is tough, but it’s also so much fun! You’re taking full control of what success means to you.


The jazz world is historically a male-dominated one. What have your experiences been as female-identifying when playing music in music scenes like this?


The Jazz scene in London is slowly shifting to being a more diverse one, and I'm loving it! My experiences so far have been so positive, I've been given space to create my own sound, and showcase it to traditional jazz audiences in traditional jazz settings, with the warmest responses. Now is the time for female identifying musicians, singers and songwriters to be authentically them and kick down those doors!

That's amazing to hear! Have you found that there is a support network for artists such as yourself, then?

I do think there are loads of support networks, places like Women In Jazz Media, Help Musicians, PRS, Somewhere Soul and a few more offer a lot of support, advice and funding opportunities for independent artists in and around London, and those have been a saving grace for artists like me everywhere.

What are some other things you enjoy about being part of a grassroots music scene?

The grassroots scene is like a family, you can grow and share your journey with people like you! Don’t get me wrong, it’s hard out here but it's always more fun when you’re doing it with a team of like-minded people.


So how important is that sense of community when it comes to playing live music?

I think it’s super important to form connections within your musical communities. Go to jam nights, put on a showcase night with your fave artists, invite people into your creative processes and create your own community! It’s so much more fun that way.

We'd be interested to know how you find it marketing yourself online. How difficult is it to keep up with social media and deal with promo campaigns as an independent artist?

Gosh, it is hard! I was part of the generation of artists that only grew up with social media being introduced to us in our mid to late teens, so it’s hard to build a properly healthy relationship when much of my experience of music 'fandom' is without it. It’s a must to have as an artist - and particularly an independent one! - so I've had to find a way to make it work for me, keep it fun and uplifting and remember that it is fully within my control.


Even just speaking personally, I can sometimes find it a little too immersive and, at times, toxic! What would your advice be to artists for coping with this when, as you say, it's a 'must' when trying to market yourself?


If it gets too much, take a step back and be inspired by real life again! It’s not the be-all and end-all and, at the end of the day, I'm a singer-songwriter. That is my “content”. So, as long as I'm being myself, making music that means something to me and having fun, the music should market itself!


That's pretty solid advice, I think. So! Are there any other bits of tasty Ashaine White info you can serve us up?


Ooooh, well... I will be releasing my second EP this month! So get ready for grunge-soul at it’s most real, raw and authentic... Honestly, I'm so excited for people to hear this music!

Yes! Not to brag, but we've listened and everyone's in for a treat. Well, this has been great! Thank you so much for taking the time to chat with us, Ashaine. Just before you get going, we'd like a piece of life advice from you, please.

Make music for you, and people will love it too!


Very true. Thanks a lot!


 

That was the lovely Ashaine White, raising some great points about the positives of independence in the industry and getting us VERY excited for the rest of 2023.


If you feel inspired by anything we've talked about today, be sure to let us know in the comments below and follow us on all our social platforms by following the links at the top right of the page!


We appreciate everyone who has taken the time to read any of our posts, and those who we've spoken to so far. We've still got a tonne of amazing artists, industry professionals and spokespeople from music charities and organisations in the pipeline for this year, so get ready.


2023 is clearly going to be packed with tasty music.


 

Ashaine's Socials:


Spotify: Ashaine White



Twitter: @ashainewhite


TikTok: @ashainewhite

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page